Top Ten Tuesday: Most Intimidating Books

Top Ten Tuesday is an original meme created by the wonderful blog, The Broke and the Bookish, as they are particularly fond of lists over there. All they ask is participants link back to the site to share their lists with fellow bloggers. Check out The Broke and the Bookish for details on this great weekly feature!

This week’s topic is most intimidating books, whether it be due to size, a book everyone else loves but you’re not sure if you’ll feel the same, content, etc.

THE SIZE

337907772888962032590348

1. House of Leaves – Mark Z. Danielewski

I am going to let this one speak for itself in photos of some of the crazier pages:

house-of-leaves-sideways-type

165251719_7973acc084_z

Oh, and? It’s a split narrative written as a report of sorts with footnotes from the narrator. This book is beyond intimidating, but I will be so proud of myself if I read the whole thing.

2. The Diviners – Libba Bray

I find this one intimidating due to size and author. I loved the Gemma Doyle series and Beauty Queens, and I’m just afraid of not liking Bray’s most recent book. Also, I tend not to read larger books as much since becoming a blogger because it prevents me from writing as many reviews as I want.

3. The Thirteen and a Half Lives of Captain Bluebear – Walter Moers

This book is ood. Not odd, ood. It’s a decent sized book, and it’s super quirky. I was really excited about it when I first bought it, yet it’s been sitting on my shelf unread for the past three years.

4. This is All: The Pillow Book of Cordelia Kenn – Aidan Chambers

This is still one of my favorite books of all time. At 800+ pages, it’s pretty huge, plus there was a strange section where there were two storylines going on at the same time on opposite pages (ex. 191 A, 192 b, 193 A, etc.). I didn’t know whether to read parts of each half and then go back and read the other part, or read section A all the way through and then go back and read all of section B. I still don’t know why Chambers wrote it that way, but it’s worth it because the book is so amazing.

THE HYPE

13335037134496939593913

5. Divergent – Veronica Roth

I think part of the reason I’ve put this book off for so long because I’m worried it won’t live up to all the hype. I feel like I need to read it in order to be a good YA blogger (which is silly, I know), but I’ll feel bad if I don’t like it.

6. The Raven Boys – Maggie Stiefvater

I still feel like I should read this, even though I hated Shiver. Who knows. It could happen.

7. Requiem – Lauren Oliver

I bought this the second it came out but still haven’t read it. It’s the last book in the trilogy, and I just want so badly for it to be perfect. Also, once I finish it, there will be no more Delirium! I probably just need to buck up and read it, but I don’t want it to be bad/over!

THE CONTENT

1078275339504017339214

8. Live Through This – Mindi Scott

This is intimidating due to content. After a traumatizing experience I went through last year, I’ve been worried about reading books centered around rape and abuse. I read What Happens Next and was okay, but I always worry about getting triggered, even though I really want to read the book.

9. The Bell Jar – Sylvia Plath

Sylvia Plath is just intimidating in general, from the way she uses language to the content of her work.

10. Sex & Violence – Carrie Mesrobian

This sounds like one intense book. I picked it up on a whim at BEA, but I’m nervous about reading it because, well, sex and violence.

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Most Intimidating Books

  1. Books, Tea & Me says:

    Wow, awesome list. I’m terrified of House of Leaves, for exactly the reason you gave — the look of it scares me enough, imagine getting through it.

  2. I was scared of the size of Diviners initially, but I whipped through it because while the characters are fantastic, I read it for plot. It is pretty amazing and I don’t think you will regret the time spent.

    Divergent was also full of action that pulled me through.

    Raven Boys was one that I really enjoyed even though her books have been hit and miss for me.

    Bluebear was just weird – but fun. I read it because I had a German exchange student who said it was amazing. I might have given up on it otherwise. He was waiting for me to finish it and let him know what I thought. Very quirky, but I would not read it a second time & don’t recommend it really.

    • I may have to give Raven Boys a try then. I also hope to read The Diviners before I go back to college, since my book suitcase is already going to be super heavy from BEA stuff!

Leave a Reply

