Top Ten Best/Worst Movie Adaptations

Top Ten Tuesday is an original meme created by the wonderful blog, The Broke and the Bookish, as they are particularly fond of lists over there. All they ask is participants link back to the site to share their lists with fellow bloggers. Check out The Broke and the Bookish for details on this great weekly feature!

This week’s topic is best/worst movie adaptations. I tried to keep the list limited to books I’ve actually read.

BEST

-Beautiful-Creatures-beautiful-creatures-movie-33465517-1024-1024

1. Beautiful Creatures – I saw this movie a couple weeks ago and was really impressed. They did make some big changes to the ending, probably to keep it one movie and not a series, but I felt the choices they made stayed pretty true to the book. I also thought it was cast perfectly, especially Lena and Ridley.

home

2. Whale Rider – So much for using only books I’ve read. I didn’t even know this was a book first until my mom read it and mentioned the movie was actually much better. This film definitely deserves a mention because it is truly magical, unique, and moving.

images

3. The Hunger Games – Another adaptation I was impressed with. I didn’t think I would like it, but it’s now a part of my movie collection. The book is still better, of course, but the movie was also well-done, minus the casting of Gale.

harry-potter-banner

4. the Harry Potter books – Some of them took out too much of the books, but as a whole the series was great. I still remember when the first one came out and my best friend and I pretended to play quidditch on my couch. These books and movies will definitely become classics.

hobbit_header__index

5. The Hobbit – Peter Jackson may have added a lot to the movies, but I think he made good choices. I absolutely loved The Hobbit, especially the parts with Ratagast (I can’t remember if he was actually in the book or not; I read it so long ago). The fact that Martin Freeman and Benedict Cumberbatch are in the films (or at least Cumberbatch’s silhouette/voice) doesn’t hurt either 🙂

tumblr_m0qirpDVDo1qipd68o1_500

6. Chocolat – The movie actually made me read the book, so clearly they did a good job. All of the chocolate making scenes made me salivate, as did the Johnny Depp scenes. So, basically the whole movie made me salivate. Man, I need to watch that again…

WORST

inkheart

7. Inkheart – The horror, the horror! All I remember from this film is Andy Serkis being ridiculous and mutilating one of my favorite books of all time. The rest has been blocked from my memory due to extreme trauma.

banner01b

8. The Golden Compass – Just ew. They took out and changed a lot of things, and in my opinion it was a massive failure. If I’d seen the movie before reading the book, I may not have even picked it up.

twilight_banner_m

9. Twilight – Awful book, and an almost-worse movie complete with bad acting and ridiculous glittery men.

extremely_loud_banner

10. Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close – Okay, so this movie wasn’t that bad, but I’m being hard on it because it’s another all-time favorite. I personally wouldn’t have cast Sandra Bullock in it, just because I don’t like her all that much, but whatever. They also removed so much of the book that it lost the power it had on paper.

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Best/Worst Movie Adaptations

    • I totally didn’t know Wale Rider (awesome movie!) or Chocolat (even awesomer movie!) were books. Hmmm….I’m definitely going to have to read those!

Leave a Reply

