The Originals

Title: The Originals
Author: Cat Patrick
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: May 7, 2013
Pages: 304
Genre: Sci-fi
Source: Library
Rating: 3/5

17-year-olds Lizzie, Ella, and Betsey Best grew up as identical triplets… until they discovered a shocking family secret. They’re actually closer than sisters, they’re clones. Hiding from a government agency that would expose them, the Best family appears to consist of a single mother with one daughter named Elizabeth. Lizzie, Ella, and Betsey take turns going to school, attending social engagements, and a group mindset has always been a de facto part of life…

Then Lizzie meets Sean Kelly, a guy who seems to see into her very soul. As their relationship develops, Lizzie realizes that she’s not a carbon copy of her sisters; she’s an individual with unique dreams and desires, and digging deeper into her background, Lizzie begins to dismantle the delicate balance of an unusual family that only science could have created.

15790886

I was really excited about this book. I loved Cat Patrick’s Forgotten and was thrilled to hear she had another book coming out this year. I had high hopes for The Originals, but unfortunately, the book fell short of my expectations.

It started out kind of slowly and I honestly almost broke up with it. It wasn’t that the story didn’t interest me; I just expected more from Cat Patrick’s writing. Forgotten was written so beautifully, and The Originals read like a mediocre first book to me.

I also found the story predictable, which also didn’t help it. I liked the idea of three clones sharing one life, but I feel like that kind of plot sets itself up to go a certain way.

The part of the book I liked the most was the relationship between the girls and their mother. Obviously there’s a lot of tension there because of the way their mother is choosing to run their lives, but I did wish that Patrick had built up even more tension. I just think she could have done a lot more with the relationship to make the book more exciting and less predictable.

Thankfully, though I wasn’t terribly impressed by this book, it certainly won’t stop me from reading more Cat Patrick. I look forward to the release of Just Like Fate, written with Suzanne Young, and hope she redeems herself.

green3

Leave a Reply

