Top Ten Tuesday: Words/Topics That Will Make Me NOT Pick Up A Book

Top Ten Tuesday is an original meme created by the wonderful blog, The Broke and the Bookish, as they are particularly fond of lists over there. All they ask is participants link back to the site to share their lists with fellow bloggers. Check out The Broke and the Bookish for details on this great weekly feature!

On April 30th, I wrote about the top words/topics that make me pick up a book. Today I’ll be discussing words and topics that turn me off.

1. Historical fiction- I am not a fan of historical fiction. Almost at all. Historical with a bit of paranormal or steampunk elements is okay, but straight up historical? Noooooo thank you. The exception to the rule is Jennifer Donnelly, who just can’t write a bad book.

2. “For fans of Twilight“- Do I really need to explain this one?

3. Animals- I’m sorry. Animals are great, but reading about them is not. The animal in the story ALWAYS dies. And personally, I just can’t get worked up about a fictional animal the way I can about a person.

4. Sports- If the narrator of a sporty book is female, maybe. I did like Hooked by Liz Fichera, but that was because it was about much more than just Fred’s passion for golf. In general though, I won’t pick up a sports book.

5. War/army- I’ll admit it; I did love Trish Doller’s Something Like Normal, but it wasn’t set when Travis was actually in the war.

6. Dystopian- Okay, this is kind of a lie, but I do have a very love-hate relationship with this genre right now. I feel like a lot of dystopians are kind of the same, and it’s rare for me to call one unique. But, something does compel me to read them, because I keep buying them…Divergent and Legend, here I come…

7. Trilogies– What is it with trilogies? They need to stop. Especially dystopian ones. I mean seriously, can anyone honestly name me even five good standalone YA dystopians? It needs to happen. The trilogies are making me gag.

8. Series- Kind of the same thing as trilogies, but especially super long series like House of Night and Pretty Little Liars. I keep thinking the writers have published the last book in the series, and two seconds later, just kidding, we’re writing another one! I’m okay with slightly shorter series that are already out, like Beautiful Creatures, because four is a nice, manageable number.

9. Afterlife- I think The Lovely Bones kind of turned me off to the whole afterlife pitch. YA books in this genre tend to be kind of cliche and trite. Not my thing.

10. Vampires/werewolves- I think this craze has mostly passed, but I still cringe whenever I see a vampire book.

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Words/Topics That Will Make Me NOT Pick Up A Book

  1. I’m nodding in agreement with many of these. The super long series put me off too, and yes about the animals in books. I like books about the aftermath of military like SLN, but yes I don’t think I’d like to read about a war setting either.

  2. Oh gosh, I can never read a book with animals involved. I’ll turn into a blubbering mess. I’ve seen so many movies where humans die, but when it comes down to animals? Yeah, no. Pass.

  3. Books, Tea & Me says:

    Ah yes, the good ol’ trilogy. They bug me too. Especially when it’s obvious the story can be told in max. two books but publishers feel the need to get to that magic number 3. There’s nothing magical about it. Same goes with series.
    I do agree that the super hyped up phase of vampires/werewolves has passed and dystopians have entered the threshold. But seeing them on shelves still makes me shudder.
    Great list!

Leave a Reply

