Cover Wars Part 1: US vs. UK

Sometimes, for fun, I go on Goodreads and compare American book covers to British ones and see which is better. So here are a few with my opinions about them. US covers will be on the left and UK covers on the right.

9781250008114Tidal

Tidal by Amanda Hocking
I like the American cover, but I don’t love it. I adore covers with tattooed men on them, and was especially excited to see Daniel represented at last, but that UK cover is just gorgeous. The red looks very striking on the midnight purple-y background, and I always love a good drowning girl cover. It just looks mysterious and eerie like the story itself.

Winner: UK

1306968116122075

Speechless by Hannah Harrington
I absolutely love the American cover on this book. It’s so stark and simple, but still manages to catch your eye. The British cover takes the concept much to literally for me. I would definitely be less inclined to pick up the book with the British cover on it.

Winner: US

1075665611594257

Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi
To be honest, I don’t care much for either of these covers. I did think it was interesting though how the US one looks more typically YA than the UK one. I think the quote on the US cover would draw me to the book more, but I do like that the UK cover is unique.

Winner: ?

768666710128165

Delirium by Lauren Oliver
I chose the US cover that I own, not the redesigned one with the big face. When comparing this US cover to the UK cover, the US definitely wins for me. I just find simple covers a lot more interesting than the overused big face. However, if I’d compared the face cover to the UK cover, I’d go with the UK.

Winner: US

74882449975659

Unearthly by Cynthia Hand
I am a bit partial to the US cover because purple is my favorite color. I also like the font from the US better. The UK cover might look more unearthly (haha) but I’m not as much of a fan.

Winner: US

772888915783083

The Diviners by Libba Bray
I like the dark colors for the US cover, but the UK cover has kind of a glamorous feel to it, so I can’t decide!

Winner: both

1086662415854146

Unspoken by Sarah Rees Brennan
The US cover far outshines the UK cover on this book. I mean, just look at the UK cover. Ugh! It’s actually kind of ugly in my opinion. The cover on the left is romantic and atmospheric and I love it.

Winner (by a landslide): US

991793812400425

Blood Red Road by Moira Young
From what I’ve read about this book, both covers seem to capture the feeling of the story well, but I may have to go with the UK on this one. There’s nothing wrong with the US cover, I just think the UK one looks more badass.

16142651RmQ7V9AfL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA300_SH20_OU02_

How I Live Now by Meg Rosoff
This is one of my all-time favorite books. I don’t really get the flowery covers in context of the story, but the US one looks less cutesy so…

Winner: US

660479410231501

The Sky is Everywhere by Jandi Nelson
Again, I chose to compare the cover I have with the UK cover. For me, the UK is the clear winner. I don’t know what it is about the purple and red, but it really sings passion to me, whereas the blue and pink is just kind of meh.

Winner: UK

One thought on “Cover Wars Part 1: US vs. UK

Leave a Reply

