Dance of the Red Death

danceofthereddeathtour

Title: Dance of the Red Death
Author: Bethany Griffin
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Publication Date: June 11, 2013
Pages: 336
Genre: Steampunk
Source: Edelweiss
Rating: 5/5

Bethany Griffin continues the journey of Araby Worth in Dance of the Red Death—the sequel to her teen novel Masque of the Red Death.

In Dance of the Red Death, Araby’s world is in shambles—betrayal, death, disease, and evil forces surround her. She has no one to trust. But she finds herself and discovers that she will fight for the people she loves, and for her city.

Her revenge will take place at the menacing masked ball, though it could destroy her and everyone she loves…or it could turn her into a hero.

dance-of-the-red-death

Bethany Griffin stunned me yet again in the tragic, romantic, thrilling sequel to Masque of the Red Death, her YA debut. Her writing was just as beautiful as it was in the first book, if not more so. Griffin’s vivid imagery hooked me once more as well, making this a fabulous read for all my senses.

The romance was more intense in Dance of the Red Death as well. When I finished Masque of the Red Death, I was still rooting for Will despite his betrayal, but as I got to know Elliot, I wasn’t sure who I wanted Araby to end up with. I do have kind of a thing for messed-up boys in YA lit, and Elliot’s complicated motives and attitudes really turned me on to him. I must say though, that I am happy with who Araby chooses in the end.

I grew to like Araby even more in this book. Not that she was trusting in the last book, but she becomes even less so in this one. She deals with her conflicting feelings for her father, Elliot, and Will very realistically, and she will probably break your heart at least once throughout the story. I think the way she deals with Elliot’s manipulation is great; nothing gets past this girl. It also made me happy that the people sort of rebelled against Elliot at the end and an election was planned, whereas he had wanted to be the next king, basically.

I also loved the ending. Griffin didn’t wrap it up perfectly in a neat little package, she left it mostly open-ended. I love endings that aren’t completely resolved, because I feel like that’s more true to life. It also makes sense that she did it this way because there were only two books. On that note, I had been under the impression that this was to be a trilogy, so when things started winding down, I was so upset because I wanted more Araby!

Magical and dark, this steampunk duo is definitely a must-read. Fans of this series should also try Megan Shepherd’s The Madman’s Daughter.

Casting Call

Throughout both books, I had very specific actors in mind for each main character. I think Masque and Dance would make beautiful, exciting movies, and if this were to ever happen, these are the people I would choose for the main four:

emily-emily-browning-697690_1036_1500

Araby Worth: Emily Browning
Just add some purple to that hair and we’ve got the perfect Araby!

images

April: Brittany Snow
She always seems to get cast in diva sort of roles, and April is definitely a diva to the max. I think Brittany Snow would both look the part and capture April’s fun spirit perfectly.

Burlesque-Wallpapers-1280x1024-5

Will: Cam Gigandet
We already know he looks great in eyeliner and can act the part of a mysterious club guy, so why the heck not?

actor Tom Felton

Elliot: Tom Felton
He was perfectly evil as Draco Malfoy, and I think he’d be equally conniving as Elliot.

purple5

Leave a Reply

