Tidal

Title: Tidal (Watersong #3)
Author: Amanda Hocking
Publisher: St. Martin’s Griffin
Publication Date: June 4, 2013
Pages: 342
Genre: Paranormal
Source: Library
Rating: 4/5

Gemma and Harper Fisher are facing the fight of their lives. Gemma has been cursed with extraordinary powers that have a terrifying dark side, but she’s finally found what she needs – a way to break the curse and become human again. However, finding the means to do it will be her greatest challenge yet. And now Penn, Lexi, and Thea – the gorgeous but deadly creatures who cursed her – are determined to kill her before she has a chance. Making matters worse, Penn has her sights set on Daniel – the guy Harper loves – and Penn always gets what she wants.

As Gemma and Harper race to break the curse before it’s too late, they’re thrust deeper into a mythical world of immortal secrets. They must into their enemies’ past to find the answers they need, even if it means being drawn deeper into their savagely beautiful world. But one of the girls is not what she seems…and Gemma finds an unlikely ally as she struggles to save herself. Will it be enough to break an ancient curse that no one has ever escaped from alive?

9781250008114

Things I liked:

1. Amanda Hocking’s writing – Of course this has to be included, because Hocking has a style that’s fluid and snappy that fits the story perfectly. I also particularly liked her descriptions of Marcy in this book.

2. More sirens – We got the sirens’ point of view in this one! We also got to see parts of their past with the two sisters they had before Gemma. Hocking also explored the dynamics of the relationships between them further, which was interesting and terrifying.

3. Daniel – Could he be any more perfect for Harper? I also love how much he frustrates Penn, because anyone who does that is an automatic winner. I’m not sure if I buy the whole he-can’t-hear-the-song-because-accident thing, just because I feel like that would be too easy, but I guess we’ll find out for sure in the next book!

4. The research process – I know it’s really nerdy that I enjoy Harper and Gemma’s research process of library books and visiting that bookstore in Mass or wherever it was, but I do. I always think it’s cool when everyday mortals get involved in the paranormal world, especially book lovers.

5. Alex- OMG GEMMA AND ALEX FINALLY SPOKE AGAIN!! Obviously what happens to Alex because of the Watersong is heartbreaking, but it just added a whole other layer to their situation that made it that much more interesting. And Gemma finally admitted she used the song on him! I was also really happy that even through the Watersong, Alex still loves Gemma, even if on the surface he acts like he hates her, because they are just too perfect.

Things I liked a little less:

1. Scenes with the mother – The scenes with Gemma and Harper’s mother just made me really upset, and not in a good way. I guess I didn’t dislike those scenes as much as I was made uncomfortable by them.

2. The ending – After all the drama in the rest of the book, I felt like the ending was kind of a cop out. Then again, I am happy certain things were resolved before the next book.

blue4

Leave a Reply

