Requiem

timthumb

Title: Requiem
Author: Lauren Oliver
Publisher: HarperCollins Children’s Books
Publication Date: March 5, 2013
Pages: 391
Genre: Dystopia
Source: Purchased
Rating: 5/5

They have tried to squeeze us out, to stamp us into the past.

But we are still here.

And there are more of us every day.

Now an active member of the resistance, Lena has been transformed. The nascent rebellion that was under way in Pandemonium has ignited into an all-out revolution in Requiem, and Lena is at the center of the fight.

After rescuing Julian from a death sentence, Lena and her friends fled to the Wilds. But the Wilds are no longer a safe haven—pockets of rebellion have opened throughout the country, and the government cannot deny the existence of Invalids. Regulators now infiltrate the borderlands to stamp out the rebels, and as Lena navigates the increasingly dangerous terrain, her best friend, Hana, lives a safe, loveless life in Portland as the fiancée of the young mayor.

Maybe we are driven crazy by our feelings.

Maybe love is a disease, and we would be better off without it.

But we have chosen a different road.

And in the end, that is the point of escaping the cure: We are free to choose.

We are even free to choose the wrong thing.

Requiem is told from both Lena’s and Hana’s points of view. The two girls live side by side in a world that divides them until, at last, their stories converge.

requiem

*Contains spoiler*

I was really nervous when I started reading this book. I had two major fears, the first being that it wouldn’t be as good as Pandemonium, and the second being that Lena would choose the wrong guy. Thankfully, neither of these fears came to pass.

Requiem was absolutely beautiful. It was even more powerful and romantic than the first two books, which I didn’t think was possible.

I loved the dual perspective between Lena and Hannah. Like all the other Delirium fans out there, I’ve been very curious to know what was happening back in Portland while Lena was in the Wilds. It was very interesting to get the perspective of someone who was “cured,” because I always like when authors try to write as someone who basically has no emotions. I felt Oliver did a great job portraying Hannah’s thought processes as a “cured” person, and could really feel her fears when she thought things had gone awry.

I also loved the relationship between Alex and Lena. At the beginning of the book, the way Alex and Lena danced around each other and tried to reconcile what had happened while they were apart, my heart absolutely broke for Lena. At first, I really wasn’t sure who Lena would choose, because Alex was being such a jerk, but I was beyond ecstatic when things worked out.

I have to say that although I felt a little bad for Julian at the end of the book because Lena still hadn’t told him she’d chosen Alex, I still laughed a little because HAHA JULIAN YOU LOSE. I’ll admit he started to grow on my by the end of Pandemonium, but when Alex returned, he simply had to go.

I also really liked the way Lauren Oliver chose to end the book. A lot of people have said they have mixed feelings about the ending in reviews I’ve read, but I personally thought it was perfect. Unresolved endings always stand out to me more than perfectly wrapped and packaged endings. I like that we finish Requiem not knowing the outcome of the revolution or of Lena and Alex’s relationship. Because Delirium is such a special series, it seemed only fitting for it to have a unique ending as well.

Requiem far exceeded my expectations, and while of course I wish there were more books, it left me feeling quite satisfied. This is definitely one of my favorite series conclusions of all-time, and it will always have a special place in my heart.

coral5

Leave a Reply

