Top Ten Books on my August TBR List

Top Ten Tuesday is an original meme created by the wonderful blog, The Broke and the Bookish, as they are particularly fond of lists over there. All they ask is participants link back to the site to share their lists with fellow bloggers. Check out The Broke and the Bookish for details on this great weekly feature!

This week’s topic is actually Top Ten Books I Wish Could Have Had Sequels (they were complete stories but you just could have read more and more about these characters or set in that world), but I love a good standalone and honestly couldn’t think of a single one, so I decided to go rogue and make a list of the top ten books I need to read in August instead. I go back to school in around three weeks, so I really need to prioritize and get to the most important library books and heavier owned books that I don’t want to cart with me to Maryland.

images106624209780670784820_p0_v1_s260x42012788061c_intheafter1266581917Gone_Cover_Jun27_3images-11785973316059410

Here we go:

1. Unravel Me – Tahereh Mafi
After reading Requiem, I’m a little less nervous about reading Unravel Me. I’ve been avoiding both of these books for so many months because I was afraid they wouldn’t be as good as the previous books, but Requiem’s awesomeness has given me hope

2. Fire with Fire – Jenny Han & Siobhan Vivian
I was ridiculously excited to get this one at BEA. I definitely need to read it before I go back to school though, because it’s about 500 pages long and even though it’s paperback, I want to bring mostly shorter, lighter books. Also, am I the only one who wants Mary and Reeve to end up together…?

3. 45 Pounds (More or Less) – K. A. Barson
This book just sounds fun and empowering, so I hope it lives up to the good reviews I’ve read.

4. Dance of Shadows – Yelena Black
I don’t know why I want to read this one so much, I just have a feeling it will be good. Dance + murder = perfect combo. Just sayin’.

5. In the After – Demetria Lunetta
This one I may not worry about getting to, because after skimming the beginning, I may decide that it’s good enough to buy on Kindle, in which case I can focus on books I know I won’t buy.

6. Another Little Piece – Kate Karyus Quinn
This book sounds So. Freaking. Good. I love a good YA horror/ghost story, so this debut should be right up my alley.

7. 17 & Gone – Nova Ren Suma
I still need to read Imaginary Girls, but since I own that one, this’ll be the one I check out first. It doesn’t sound as good as Imaginary Girls, but every once in a while, you just need a good kidnapping book.

8. Die For Me – Amy Plum
Someone I met in the line for exhibit hall at BEA recommended this series to me, so I’ve finally added it to my TBR list. No clue what it’s about, but I suppose I’ll be finding out soon enough.

9. Skin – Donna Jo Napoli
This book sounds really quirky and different, and the fact that it’s coming out this month gives me more motivation to read it sooner rather than later.

10. Taste Test – Kelly Fiore
This is one of my most highly anticipated debuts. A reality TV cooking competition? How fun will this book be!

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Books on my August TBR List

  1. I’ve read Unravel Me, Dance of Shadows and Another Little Piece. I liked them all but Dance of Shadows and Another Little Piece are a little strange. I think you either love or hate those two books.

Leave a Reply

