Arclight

tumblr_mlczg1TgmX1qdlytco1_500

Title: Arclight
Author: Josin L. McQuein
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Publication Date: April 23, 2013
Pages: 400
Genre: Dystopia/Sci-fi
Source: Library
Rating: 4/5

No one crosses the wall of light . . . except for one girl who doesn’t remember who she is, where she came from, or how she survived. A harrowing, powerful debut thriller about finding yourself and protecting your future—no matter how short and uncertain it may be.

The Arclight is the last defense. The Fade can’t get in. Outside the Arclight’s border of high-powered beams is the Dark. And between the Light and the Dark is the Grey, a narrow, barren no-man’s-land. That’s where the rescue team finds Marina, a lone teenage girl with no memory of the horrors she faced or the family she lost. Marina is the only person who has ever survived an encounter with the Fade. She’s the first hope humanity has had in generations, but she could also be the catalyst for their final destruction. Because the Fade will stop at nothing to get her back. Marina knows it. Tobin, who’s determined to take his revenge on the Fade, knows it. Anne-Marie, who just wishes it were all over, knows it.

When one of the Fade infiltrates the Arclight and Marina recognizes it, she will begin to unlock secrets she didn’t even know she had. Who will Marina become? Who can she never be again?

12138494

My reaction to the first page of the book: Okay, this is cool. Yeah, I like this.

Reaction to the first quarter: I don’t really know what’s going on, but I do know it is pretty and AWESOME!

My feelings about Tobin: Yes. Just yes. Is there anything more to say?

My reaction to the last quarter of the book: Again, not entirely sure what’s happening, but do I care? NO! Why? BECAUSE AWESOMENESS IS HAPPENING.

So yeah. Arclight. Not one of my most anticipated debuts originally, but definitely one of my favorites so far. You know how I’m always complaining about the lack of unique dystopians? Welp, here you go, Arclight’s one of them. It’s a story I hadn’t read before written in an extremely addictive style that will most certainly keep you up all night.

While I did have trouble understanding and visualizing some of the things that were happening, I didn’t care even a little because the rest of it was so good. I could totally see why it’s already been optioned off for film, and it’s a movie I’ll definitely see when it comes out. Knowing a movie is being planned when I went into it, I tried to picture who I thought would make a good cast, and for Marina, I couldn’t stop seeing Shailene Woodley in my head. I hated that first show she was in, The Secret Life of the American Teenager, but liked her much more in The Descendants, so I have a bit more faith now, and I think she could make a perfect Marina.

Josin McQuien even sold me on one of the literature tropes I absolutely hate: *SPOILER* past lives. I really don’t like it when we spend the whole book getting to know a character, only to find out they’re a completely different person. I just feel let down and cheated, but I didn’t feel that way with Arclight at all. The only thing I feel cheated about with Arclight is the fact that I have to wait for the sequel!

Arclight is exciting and different, a definite must-read of 2013.

pink4

Leave a Reply

