Top Ten Books Set in England

Top Ten Tuesday is an original meme created by the wonderful blog, The Broke and the Bookish, as they are particularly fond of lists over there. All they ask is participants link back to the site to share their lists with fellow bloggers. Check out The Broke and the Bookish for details on this great weekly feature!

Top Ten Favorite Books With X Setting (ie: futuristic world, set mostly in schools, during World War II, books set in California  etc. etc. So many possibilities!).

I chose to write about books set in England.

1. How I Live Now – Meg Rosoff
I realized recently that this was probably one of the first dystopians I ever read. Technically, I guess, it’s speculative fiction, but whatever. I read it in middle school and never figured out what war it was set in until this year, but that knowledge just makes it more impressive to me. I do wish people weren’t so put off by the cousin romance thing. Reading reviews complaining about that just make me want to shout GET OVER IT PEOPLE CAN’T YOU SEE HOW GOOD THIS IS?! Oh, and it’s going to be a film this year. Haven’t decided whether or not I’m going to see it, but I’ll def be rereading the book beforehand.

images-1

2. This is All: The Pillow Book of Cordelia Kenn – Aidan Chambers
Another all-time favorite. I’ve tried reading other works by Aidan Chambers, but nothing can compare to the absolute glory that is this book.

9781407098364_p0_v2_s260x420

3. His Dark Materials series – Phillip Pullman
What can I say about this series? It is absolute perfection. This is Pullman at his very best. This was one of my favorite series as a kid, and still is.

golden_compass

4. Forbidden – Tabitha Suzuma
This is an absolutely fabulous book I wish everyone would read. Suzuma’s writing is so gorgeous and perfect, and the controversial story line is something you’ve never seen before. Suzuma handles the subject matter beautifully and manages to give you hope and break your heart at the same time.

3129729934_1_2_bL3zuAT7

5. Shades of London series – Maureen Johnson
The Name of the Star was the first book by Maureen Johnson I actually liked. It was sexy and dark and mysterious and had everything going for it. The second book, however, I was less impressed by. I didn’t get the same thrill out of reading it that I did with the first book. However, I’ll probably still read the third book, though most likely I’ll get it from the library rather than buying it.

383469_363280067105127_1744728740_n

6. the Gemma Doyle trilogy – Libba Bray
Another childhood favorite. I loved these books, although I have to say I hated that in the third book Libba Bray turns Kartik INTO A FREAKING TREE. Just sayin’.

libbabray

7. Noughts & Crosses series – Malorie Blackman
I wish this series was more widely available in the U. S. I’m not even going to show the cover or title for the American version of these books, because it just makes me sad. These books are absolutely amazing (I still need to read Double Crossed, but whatever). They’re the most unique dystopian/futuristic novels you’ll ever read, and they explore a ton of really important issues while being extremely exciting and entertaining at the same time. If you can get your hands on a copy of this series, DO IT.

8dc14-noughtsandcrosses-scaled1000

8. Confessions of Georgia Nicholson – Louise Rennison
I don’t often laugh out loud when I read, but these books had me literally guffawing. Georgia is hysterical and her stories are super addicting.

tumblr_lwwd5siBl91qan32io1_r1_500

9. I Capture the Castle – Dodie Smith
This is a classic, and with good reason. It’s delightful and beautiful, definitely worth reading. The writing makes the story practically magical, and I absolutely loved it.

31122

10. Saffy’s Angel – Hilary McKay
I decided to write about this book because I’ve never talked about it on my blog and I forgot about it for so long. Saffy’s Angel is sad, happy, funny, and will basically have you go through a range of emotions while reading. My favorite part of this book was definitely when Caddy decides to fail her driving test 99 times because she is in love with her driving instructor, Michael. But there are a bunch of other good parts about this book, too. There are also other books about the other family members, but I don’t think I’ve ever read them.

1518096

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Books Set in England

  1. I love England and I love books set there. I have read many on this list and love them too. I however, didn’t love Forbidden. I agree and that it was beautifully written and is exactly how you describe, I just couldn’t get beyond the subject matter. It was memorable though!

    My TTT
    LisaILJ @ I’ll Tumble for YA

  2. Books, Tea & Me says:

    Haha, I bawled like a baby on the C-Train when Kartik “died”/transformed. I was not prepared for that and cursed Bray for not giving them a happy ending. SO SAD. I still don’t think I’m over it, which is why it’s been a while since I’ve reread the series. I do love it though, a lot.
    And Forbidden looks really interesting. I’ve marked it as a to-read and maybe I’ll go pick it up after my vacation. I like controversial stories.

  3. You might be my new favorite blog. This is the first time I’ve seen Forbidden today! (My favorite book). I also loved Saffy’s Angel when I was younger, and love the Confessions of Georgia and His Dark Materials now.

    My TTT.

Leave a Reply

