Waiting to be Broken

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Jill from Breaking the Spine, and specifically spotlights upcoming novels we can’t wait to read. As always, there are some amazing upcoming books, but this week I’m particularly excited for…

Broken by C. J. Lyons

The only thing fifteen-year-old Scarlet Killian has ever wanted is a chance at a normal life. Diagnosed with a rare and untreatable heart condition, she has never taken the school bus. Or giggled with friends during lunch. Or spied on a crush out of the corner of her eye. So when her parents offer her three days to prove she can survive high school, Scarlet knows her time is now… or never. Scarlet can feel her heart beating out of control with every slammed locker and every sideways glance in the hallway. But this high school is far from normal. And finding out the truth might just kill Scarlet before her heart does.

17520996

There are many reasons I am excited about this book. And I know this is terrible, but one of the reasons I am excited about it is the cover. It’s so gorgeous! I love the shattered heart look. It looks creepy and pretty at the same time. Moving on. How often do medical mysteries show up in YA? I’ll tell you: not very often. I don’t know if a medical mystery is something I would enjoy, but it’s definitely unique and different, so Broken is going to be super high on my fall TBR list. Also, I love when YA books feature creepy high schools where sketchy things are going on, and I can’t wait to find out what the deal is with this one!

3 thoughts on “Waiting to be Broken

Leave a Reply

