Top Ten Summer Reads

Top Ten Tuesday is an original meme created by the wonderful blog, The Broke and the Bookish, as they are particularly fond of lists over there. All they ask is participants link back to the site to share their lists with fellow bloggers. Check out The Broke and the Bookish for details on this great weekly feature!

I decided to do my own topic for this week’s TTT because I want to share with you my favorite books read over the summer.

1. Divergent
I’ve been putting this book off for literal years, but even I have to admit it’s worth the hype. It’s a smart, emotional dystopian that I might even say is better than The Hunger Games.

13335037

2. Dr. Bird’s Advice for Sad Poets
I love, love, loooooooved this book. James is the type of male protagonist I’ve been searching for in YA: he’s sensitive, he’s real, and he’s a little screwed up. This book will make you laugh and break your heart, and it’s definitely one of my favorite debuts of 2013.

15764032

3. Beautiful Creatures
I finally read this book, too! I loved the southern setting and the mixture of the contemporary paranormal town with history. I also adored Ethan, who is now one of my top book boyfriends of all time. I swear, if Lena breaks his heart, I will kill her.

6304335

4. Unravel Me
I was so worried the second Shatter Me wouldn’t be as good as the first, but it was even better! Tahereh Mafi’s writing got even more poetic and beautiful in this book, and it really makes her books stand out from all the other dystopians out there. I also got some of the steamy scenes I’d been hoping for, and Mafi may have gotten me to join Team Warner…
13104080

5. OCD Love Story
I knew I would love this book, and I did. It explores a lot of really important issues about mental illness and has a totally unique protagonist who I fell for instantly. This awkward, sad, and funny book is another debut favorite.

13326677

6. Tumble & Fall
I still need to write a review of this book, and I can promise when I do it will be glowing. This is the most unique book I’ve read all year, told from a really different perspective and tense that makes it even more exciting. It’s definitely a book you’ll either love or hate, and I hope when it’s released other people will see how truly amazing it is.

17332270

7. Fire With Fire
Oh my god, this book. I ranted about it for days. I won’t say anything more because I’ll get upset all over again (in a good way).

10662420

8. Asunder
This book was a pleasant surprise. I didn’t love Incarnate, but it was unique and compelling enough to make me pick up Asunder, and I’m really glad I did. I liked Ana a lot more in this book as she grows stronger and more confident, and was blown away by Jodi Meadows’ rich, descriptive writing. I truly believe this book is unlike any other in the YA genre today, and is certainly worth a look.

13043180

9. Reboot
Another pleasant surprise. I wasn’t sure if I would end up liking this one, but I ended up loving it. Amy Tintera’s writing is addictive and Wren is a really special, exciting character. I really hope that the second installment in this trilogy becomes available on either NetGalley or Edelweiss, because I honestly don’t know if I can wait for the release date.

13517455

10. The Ocean at the End of the Lane
Neil Gaiman, how I love thee. He’s still as magical as ever, and has impressed my with his latest work. This is an adult book written about a child, but I think many YA readers will enjoy it. As always, Gaiman’s storytelling is quirky, meaningful, and fantastical, and I will love him till the end of time.

15783514

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Summer Reads

  1. You’ve read some awesome books this summer. Glad to see Fire with Fire, OCD Love Story and Unravel Me made the cut because I’m looking forward to reading them! Yay for Divergent too. I just did a re-read of Divergent and Insurgent to get ready for the final book. Hope your fall reading is just as great.

  2. I do want to read Divergent at some point. I guess I should get on that before the movie at least, if I’m going to go see it.

    I’m currently reading The Ocean at the end of the Lane. Fascinating!

Leave a Reply

