Asunder

asunder-feature-600x240

Title: Asunder
Author: Jodi Meadows
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Publication Date: January 29, 2013
Pages: 406
Genre: Utopian
Source: Library
Rating: 4/5

DARKSOULS
Ana has always been the only one. Asunder. Apart. But after Templedark, when many residents of Heart were lost forever, some hold Ana responsible for the darksouls–and the newsouls who may be born in their place.

SHADOWS
Many are afraid of Ana’s presence, a constant reminder of unstoppable changes and the unknown. When sylph begin behaving differently toward her and people turn violent, Ana must learn to stand up not only for herself but for those who cannot stand up for themselves.

LOVE
Ana was told that nosouls can’t love. But newsouls? More than anything, she wants to live and love as an equal among the citizens of Heart, but even when Sam professes his deepest feelings, it seems impossible to overcome a lifetime of rejection.

In this second book in the Newsoul trilogy, Ana discovers the truth about reincarnation and will have to find a way to embrace love and make her young life meaningful.

Asunder-FINAL

When I first read Incarnate, I had very mixed feelings about it. I couldn’t decide if I liked it or not, because while it was certainly one of the most unique books I’d read in a while, I didn’t really take to Ana. I felt that throughout the book she was a very weak character, and while I understood why she was that way, I ended up feeling annoyed with her a lot of the time. I also wasn’t sure if Incarnate was too weird for me or not, as I tend not to like books about reincarnation. However, something about it did compel me to read Asunder, and I am quite happy that I gave the Newsoul trilogy a second chance.

I can now confidently say that I am a Jodi Meadows fan. I found her writing interesting and different in Incarnate, but I thought Asunder was absolutely beautiful. Meadows has a writing style that’s rich and descriptive and was simply a pleasure to read. I feel like I haven’t read anything that vivid for a while, and Meadows did a great job painting a picture of Heart in my head.

I also grew to like Ana a lot more in this book. She got a lot less whiny and frightened, so I wasn’t as turned off by her. Her strength also grows as her relationship with Sam progresses, at least in some ways. Though Ana doesn’t believe yet that she can love, she begins to believe she can be loved. However, at the same time, I think Sam does hold her back. It really annoys me that he often talks to her as though she is a child. Though they literally have thousands of years between them, Sam should still treat Ana as an equal if he really wants to help her and have a healthy, equal relationship. Meadows captures the difficulty of the age gap very well, even if it does make me annoyed at Sam.

Asunder was even more magical, romantic, and intense than Incarnate, and has made me a permanent fan of Jodi Meadows. Beautifully written very different, the Newsoul trilogy is definitely a series to swoon over.

blue4

Leave a Reply

