Book Breakups #3

I don’t leave a book unfinished often. Even if I hate a book, sometimes I’ll keep reading to see if it gets any better, or to make sure nothing good happens so I can make fun of it (yes, I am a terrible person). There are other times, though, when I’m just not in the mood, it’s boring, etc. I am officially adopting Lori of Pure Imagination’s feature, Book Breakups, so I can nobly and (fairly) guiltlessly stop reading a book.

13453104

I’m not going to lie here: I actually did like this book when I started reading it. It has a lot going on between magical realism-y stuff, a dystopian world, and art things, but somehow it all worked together, and I liked Johnson’s writing style, too. For some reason though, I’ve just been finding it a little hard to visualize some things and get into the book for real, so I think I’ll have to put it down for now and read it some other time. I think I’m just plain not in the mood for it, so now it’s on to some of the September 2013 releases I’ve been dying to read. Book, I shall return.

Leave a Reply

