Tumble & Fall

Title: Tumble & Fall
Author: Alexandra Coutts
Publisher: Farrar, Straus, and Giroux
Publication Date: September 17, 2013
Pages: 384
Genre: Apocalyptic
Source: BEA
Rating: 5/5

The world is living in the shadow of oncoming disaster. An asteroid is set to strike the earth in just one week’s time; catastrophe is unavoidable. The question isn’t how to save the world—the question is, what to do with the time that’s left? Against this stark backdrop, three island teens wrestle with intertwining stories of love, friendship and family—all with the ultimate stakes at hand.

tumble+&+fall

If you’ve been following me for a while or know me in real life, you probably know about my love/hate relationship with dystopian trilogies by now. I’ve been pining away for a good dystopian standalone, and Tumble & Fall was a perfect one.

Tumble & Fall isn’t exactly dystopian, though, because the world hasn’t ended…yet. Amidst the influx of post-apocalyptic lit, there are hardly any that are about how the world ends. To add to the sense of urgency of the world ending in a matter of days, Coutts writes the novel in third-person present tense. Personally, I loved her writing style and was completely hooked by it, but it’s definitely not for everyone and has probably contributed to the book’s sadly low Goodreads rating.

I also liked that the book was written from the perspective of three different teens, because I feel like I haven’t read a book like that in quite a while. I think it was particularly effective for this end of the world story, because it allowed us to see how different people dealt with impending doom and offered different views of what matters most in the end.

In addition, I thought each storyline was resolved in a realistic way. I use the word “resolved” loosely because there are definitely a few loose ends by the end of the book, but for me it worked. Just because the world is ending doesn’t mean you’ll automatically tie together all the loose ends of your life.

Though it’s certainly not for everyone, I thought Tumble & Fall was amazingly beautiful. The three different characters will make you question what’s important in your life, and the hiccups, stops, and romances along the way will make this book even better. Alexandra Coutts has thoroughly wowed me, and I hope that her future books will be just as good as her debut.

coral5

Leave a Reply

