Top Ten Books That Would Make Great Movies or TV Shows

Top Ten Tuesday is an original meme created by the wonderful blog, The Broke and the Bookish.

This week’s topic is top ten books that would make great tv shows or movies (in a perfect world where they aren’t butchered, of course).

TV Shows

tvshows

1. the House of Night series by P. C. and Kristin Cast – There are so many of these books and they’re all filled with enough drama to last many, many seasons. Singular movies could not do these books justice.

2. The Ivy series by Lauren Kunze & Rina Onur – I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: these books would be a perfect TV show. Callie Andrews is a loveable protagonist who would definitely get lots of fans, and the perfect bitches and hot guys would hook a lot of viewers/readers.

3. The Selection trilogy by Kiera Cass – This was going to be a TV show, but I don’t know what happened to it. I imagine a dystopian America’s Next Top Model with romance.

4. the Mara Dyer trilogy by Michelle Hodkin – I guess these could work as movies, but I think the way the plot unravels could work as a TV show, too. Plus, I need many, many hours of Noah Shaw, and three movies just couldn’t cover it.

Movies

movs

5. Reboot by Amy Tintera – This would be a fabulous movie. It’s action packed and has a super badass heroine on the same level of awesomeness as Katniss and Tris.

6. the Shatter Me trilogy by Tahereh Mafi – The addition of super steamy scenes in the trilogy’s second installment makes me want to see these books on screen. They would make some epic films.

7. the Gemma Doyle trilogy by Libba Bray – The writing in these books is so vivid and each installment is filled with mystery and romance perfectly suited to be on screen.

8. the Matched trilogy by Allie Condie – Actually, the movie rights have been bought and it’s going to be a film at some point directed by the guy who made Hard Candy (and, sadly, one of the Twilights). If he messes this movie up…

9. the Delirium trilogy by Lauren Oliver – I believe this was supposed to be a TV show at some point, but last I heard it was cancelled (thank god). I just didn’t see how they could make these books fit a TV show format. Plus, I absolutely hated their casting for Alex, so I hope nothing more happens with that particular production.

10. the Revenants series by Amy Plum – I love, love, loved Die For Me, and would be psyched to see Vincent on screen. I feel like a film version of this trilogy would appeal to fans of books/movies like Beautiful Creatures. Hopefully a film of these books would be as well done as the Beautiful Creatures movie.

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Books That Would Make Great Movies or TV Shows

  1. I’d love to see the Gemma Doyle trilogy made into films! Mostly because I haven’t read them yet and I really want to. This would be a great way to make me read them (it would give me a deadline: before the movie comes out!!).

Leave a Reply

