A Sad Post

I don’t usually post about personal things on my blog, but I’ve been in kind of a weird mood lately and have some questions I hope will be answered by some of my readers. Do I have readers? I get comments somteimes but don’t have that many followers, and lately my number of daily views has been dropping even lower than usual, and I’ve just been feeling sort of discouraged. I don’t blog for blogosphere fame or whatever, but I would like to gain more readers so I can share my thoughts about literature with more people. If I was really worried about the amount of followers I have or views per day, I guess I wouldn’t blog at all, but I’ve just been feeling kind of down about it lately.

How can I get more readers/followers? I post stuff on fb, twitter, and tumblr, and I’m worried that maybe free WordPress isn’t a good platform for getting more followers because…I don’t know. I don’t know why I think that. I also wish I could have social media buttons to make it easier to follow me on Goodreads, Twitter, Facebook, Tumblr, etc., but free wordpress doesn’t have that. I’ve thought about buying a WordPress.com domain name, but I don’t know how many more options I would get with that. Self hosting is just super expensive and complicated and I don’t have the HTML skills to do what I want like make graphics specific to my blog and change my post styles and things like that.

Are there any easy-to-use self-hosting platforms that are affordable for an average college student? Are there better free platforms that offer the features I want? Does anyone actually read/like this blog? I want to be professional-blogger-ish, but I’ve just been feeling frustrated lately. #bloggerbluesyeah.

-end sad post-

<a href=”http://www.bloglovin.com/blog/9725747/?claim=h4ueqtx56vq”>Follow my blog with Bloglovin</a>

6 thoughts on “A Sad Post

  1. Mim says:

    I’m a loyal follower who enjoys your posts, My only problem is that it is hard to keep up with them because there are so many and I want to read them all!

  2. booklahoma says:

    Don’t be discouraged, you have a great blog here and I certainly enjoy reading your posts πŸ™‚ If it helps, under the Widget section of your Dashboard there’s an option for a HTML box, with some Googling I’m sure you could find the codes which will create the little social media buttons. Don’t give up! πŸ™‚

  3. I am sure we all feel this way at times. I know I do. I don’t blog for the fame but I do want to know people like what i write. There are so many blogs out there it is hard to comment on all of them. i like your blog and your posts.D Don’t give up. !

  4. Thanks for the follow on Bloglovin. I’m following you back. I started blogging in June and I’m just now starting to see my comments increase. Interestingly enough, fewer people are newly adding me via Bloglovin/Twitter/etc than did before, but more people are commenting.

    But in general I think this is a busy time for a lot of people. I’m not in school but it seems like a lot of bloggers are and the last of them are finally starting back. (School started mid-August here, and colleges in my area started a few weeks back too.) I’ve noticed the number and frequency of posts going down on a lot of blogs I follow.

    I’m self-hosted so I don’t know much about WordPress.com blogs, but I Googled and found this: http://onecoolsitebloggingtips.com/2013/08/06/social-media-icons-for-wordpress-com-blogs/

    It looks like you have the first part, share buttons on posts, covered, so scroll down a little for info on how to get them on your sidebar.

  5. I read your posts! Like Mim I follow to many blogs to properly keep up with them all though, so that’s something I’m actually trying to cut down on at the moment. I find the best way to gain followers is to leave comments on other’s blogs – don’t know why that works but it does and as I love commenting anyways it just sort of all works out! πŸ™‚ I’m on wordpress too and like you I could never move from there because I have virtually no IT skills, but WP’s alright and I love their ‘reader’ and it helps me keep track of new posts. (Just log in on their website and click Reader.) Anyway honey, don’t blog for the readers, do it for the eARCs, the feedback you get on new books that help you decide what to read next, and the opportunity to have a conversation with readers who have similar tastes! Just don’t be sad. If blogging makes you sad don’t do it, do something else.

  6. I read your posts! I’m fairly new to blogging myself, and am having the same issues. Some posts that I think will be popular get no likes or comments, others surprise me. It’s just a matter of keeping going (and you do have a lot of followers :D) Good luck, and keep writing!

Leave a Reply

