Waiting on Wednesday: Salvage

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Jill from Breaking the Spine, and specifically spotlights upcoming novels we can’t wait to read. As always, there are some amazing upcoming books, but this week I’m particularly excited for…

Salvage by Alexandra Duncan

Ava, a teenage girl living aboard the male-dominated deep space merchant ship Parastrata, faces betrayal, banishment, and death. Taking her fate into her own hands, she flees to the Gyre, a floating continent of garbage and scrap in the Pacific Ocean, in this thrilling, surprising, and thought-provoking debut novel that will appeal to fans of Across the Universe, by Beth Revis, and The Handmaid’s Tale, by Margaret Atwood.

13518102

Even though this summary doesn’t tell you that much about the book, I’m still pretty excited for Salvage. I don’t generally like space books, but based on the mention of The Handmaid’s Tale and the specific detail about the space ship being male-dominated, I’m predicting a cool gender-oriented dystopian that I’ll probably like. Crewel was another dystopian that focused a lot on gender roles, and I’ve been kind of gathering up books like that because I’m thinking about doing a research paper about women in YA dystopian for one of my women’s studies courses this semester. I requested Salvage from Edelweiss a couple weeks ago and have all of my fingers and toes crossed for it.

2 thoughts on “Waiting on Wednesday: Salvage

Leave a Reply

