Top Ten Best Sequels Ever

Top Ten Tuesday is an original meme created by the wonderful blog The Broke and the Bookish.

This week I’m going to share some of my favorite sequels. I complain about there being too many series and trilogies a lot, but these are all too good to pass up.

1295037210662420131040801193249593911849282513206760162480681304318013599291

1. The Evolution of Mara Dyer – Michelle Hodkin

This book had me literally screaming and running down my hallway at college like a crazy person because it was so freaking good. I thought The Unbecoming would be hard to top, but Hodkin did it ten times over, and I am both excited and terrified to see what she’ll do next in The Retribution.

2. Fire with Fire – Jenny Han

I had a major hangover for this book for about a week, and yelled about it for about that much time as well. I liked Burn for Burn enough to read the sequel, but Fire with Fire made me love this trilogy, and I think I’ll die if I don’t get an advanced copy of Ashes to Ashes. I just can’t wait that long!

3. Unravel Me – Tahereh Mafi

I was worried Unravel Me wouldn’t be as good as Shatter Me, but it was absolutely fabulous. Mafi’s writing never ceases to amaze me, and she even got a new member on Team Warner, which I definitely didn’t expect to happen. Ignite Me is gonna be so gooooooooood!

4. The Subtle Knife – Philip Pullman

The Golden Compass is probably my all-time favorite trilogy, so of course the second book in the series had to be on this list. Pullman gets even more fantastic with every book in the series, and I was very sad when it ended.

5. Pandemonium – Lauren Oliver

I wasn’t super impressed with Delirium, but I read Pandemonium anyway and fell in love with the series. Oliver’s writing got better and better with each book in the series, but Pandemonium will always have a special place in my heart because it was what made the series one of my favorites.

6. Where She Went – Gayle Forman

I was skeptical about this sequel to If I Stay at first, because I didn’t think it would be as good nor did I think I would like Adam’s voice as much as I liked Mia’s. I was completely and utterly wrong. Not only was Where She Went just as amazing as If I Stay, I might even say it was better.

7. Scarlet – Marissa Meyer

Confession: I didn’t actually like Cinder. Still, something made me read Scarlet and give Marissa Meyer another chance, and I’m so happy I did. I absolutely loved Scarlet and thought it was infinitely better than Cinder. Because of Scarlet, Cress is now one of my most anticipated reads of 2014.

8. The Elite – Kiera Cass

I wasn’t worried at all that this book wouldn’t be as good as The Selection, and I was definitely right not to do so.

9. Asunder – Jodi Meadows

This was yet another sequel to a book I wasn’t sure if I liked. Needless to say, I am now a super fan of Jodi Meadows’ Newsoul series. I think her writing is beautiful and I can’t wait to read more of it.

10. Dance of the Red Death – Bethany Griffin

I stepped out of my comfort zone last year when I read Masque of the Red Death, the first novel in this steampunk duo. It blew me away completely and I was totally psyched when I got an ARC of Dance over the summer. I had thought Masque of the Red Death was going to be a trilogy, and was actually disappointed when it turned out to be only a duo, despite how much I scorn the trilogy thing. I must say though, it was quite a perfect duo, and I really think Griffin deserves much more hype than she’s getting.

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Best Sequels Ever

  1. Yay for the 2nd Mara Dyer book and Fire with Fire!! I SO want to love those books as much as the first ones!! I’ve heard creepy things about Evolution, so I’m looking forward to it…. and I must find out what happened after that cliffhanger Burn for Burn ending!

    Thanks for stopping by My TTT

Leave a Reply

