Top Ten Book Turnoffs

Top Ten Tuesday is an original meme created by the wonderful blog The Broke and the Bookish.

This week’s topic is top ten book turnoffs, or things that make me not want to read a book. I’ve already written about this topic before, so I’ll try not to make any repeats. I wasn’t originally going to do a TTT this week because I’d done the topic before and because of the cool cover reveal you guys should check out, but I’ve decided to hop on the train anyway.

1. Insta-love. I know some people find this super sexy and romantic, but I just find it stupid.

2. Third person. Okay, some people can do this right (Marissa Meyer, for example), but in general I find it detaches me from the story and the characters.

3. Unnecessary love triangles. I know love triangles are a big thing, but does every single book have to have one now? I like a good love triangle as much as the next YA reader, but on occasion I’ll read one that’s so half-assed and unnecessary that it’ll make me want to throw the book across the room (Parallel, I’m looking at you).

4. Preachy books. I hate when authors are really obvious about the message they’re trying to send, or actually state the “moral of the story” or whatever. You don’t have to beat a dead horse.

5. When an author’s style is exactly the same as another author. All Our Pretty Songs, this is you. I wanted to like this book because it was pretty, but it was way too similar to Francesca Lia Block’s style when she was still good, so it just made me annoyed and sad.

6. That one uber charismatic character. You know who I’m talking about. That character who everyone loves for some inexplicable reason, or that best friend who’s oh so effervescent and magical and everything’s about them and blah blah blah blah blah blah blah. I always end up wondering why an author didn’t just write the book from the perspective of that character instead of the person who’s obsessed with them. Again, the horse is dead.

7. Badly written issue books. Books that don’t handle an issue like rape or mental illness well and end up perpetuating negative stereotypes about the issue they’re writing about. I’m particularly sensitive to books about mental illness that do this. There’s already enough stigma attached to having a chemical imbalance in your brain; don’t add to it, please.

8. Space books. I still haven’t found a book set in space that I like. But I’m determined.

9. When girls lose themselves over a hot guy. I get that you’re in love, but that doesn’t have to be your whole life. I like a good romance where the female character retains her identity and strength through a romance. I think Kate from Revenants is a great example of this. The romance is swoony, but she’s still a badass.

10. Descriptions of blood in books. Blood smells/tastes metallic. We get it. Can we move on now?

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Book Turnoffs

  1. Have you read Across the Universe by Beth Revis? It’s the only space book I’ve ever read and liked so if not you should check it out!

    Also I 100% agree about badly written issue books! If someone doesn’t understand an issue, then they should not be writing a book that will effect other peoples (especially young people) view of that issue.

Leave a Reply

