The Omnibus Post: Top Ten Best/Worst Series Enders and a Cover Reveal!

First, the cover reveal for Eve Silver’s Push, sequel to her debut novel Rush (which I still need to read…)

Push hc c

This cover is a very nice complement to the first book, which also has a font-focused cover:

rushPush hc c

Special thanks to YA Bound Book Tours for letting me be a part of this cover reveal, and congrats to Eve Silver for having super cool covers!

Now onto the Top Ten Tuesday Post:

Top Ten Tuesday is an original meme created by the wonderful blog The Broke and the Bookish.

This week’s topic is best and worst series enders.

WORST:

116254312383869 10-38-13980900 10-38-139461872 10-42-21

1. Breaking Dawn – Stephenie Meyer
Do I really need to explain this one? Headboard breaking sex, imprinting on a fetus, baby eating its way out of Bella’s vajay, and Bella getting EVERYTHING she wants. So annoying and terrible.

2. Sever – Lauren DeStefano
I still ask myself why I bothered reading this whole trilogy even though I hated basically every book. This one was probably the worst though. The ending was rushed and not believable to me, and DeStefano tried to make Rhine understand Vaughn, which I found to be way too much. In short, the Chemical Garden Trilogy is a trilogy not worth reading unless you want to bang your head against a wall after every sentence.

3. The Last Battle – C. S. Lewis
Little me did not like this book. Thankfully, it was traumatizingly bad enough that I only remember the crappy beginning.

4. Sisterhood Everlasting – Ann Brashares
This book does not exist in my mind.

BEST:

  849282528387013324841

5. Where She Went – Gayle Forman
I was scared to read this book because I was worried it wouldn’t be as good as If I Stay, nor did I think there needed to be a sequel. I was completely and totally wrong. I loved Where She Went just as much, if not more, than If I Stay. You go, Gayle Forman.

6. The Amber Spyglass – Philip Pullman
Only Philip Pullman should be allowed to write trilogies, because each book is better than the last. Years after reading this books multiple times, I still can’t pick a favorite. They’re all amazing.

7. Son – Lois Lowry
I loved how Lowry tied all of the books in The Giver quartet together. I don’t want to say anything else because I don’t want to spoil it for those who haven’t read it.

MOST ANTICIPATED SERIES ENDINGS:

106163221584436213188676

8. Allegiant – Veronica Roth
I am so scared for this book. And excited. And omgIcan’thandletheanticipation!!!

9. The One – Kiera Cass
I know a lot of people have mixed feelings about this trilogy, but I’m in love. It’s like a dystopian America’s Next Top Model and I’ve ripped through both of the previous books. I honestly don’t know who America is going to choose, or even who I want her to choose. This book is going to be SO GOOD.

9. Ignite Me – Tahereh Mafi
After worrying that Unravel Me wouldn’t be as good as Shatter Me for a few months following its release, I finally read the second installment of this amazing trilogy of the summer and fell in love with Mafi’s writing (and Warner) even more. Ignite Me is sure to be a fantastic, explosive finale.

 

4 thoughts on “The Omnibus Post: Top Ten Best/Worst Series Enders and a Cover Reveal!

  1. I included ‘Sisterhood Everlasting’ in my list of worst endings as well. There are individual sections that I like but the emphasis on everyone finding meaning in motherhood really irked me!

Leave a Reply

