Find Me

findmelong-250x250

Title: Find Me
Author: Romily Bernard
Publisher: HarperTeen
Publication Date: September 24, 2013
Pages: 307
Genre: Thriller
Source: BEA
Rating: 5/5

“Find Me.”

These are the words written on Tessa Waye’s diary. The diary that ends up with Wick Tate. But Tessa’s just been found . . . dead.

Wick has the right computer-hacking skills for the job, but little interest in this perverse game of hide-and-seek. Until her sister Lily is the next target.

Then Griff, trailer-park boy next door and fellow hacker, shows up, intent on helping Wick. Is a happy ending possible with the threat of Wick’s deadbeat dad returning, the detective hunting him sniffing around Wick instead, and a killer taunting her at every step?

Foster child. Daughter of a felon. Loner hacker girl. Wick has a bad attitude and sarcasm to spare.

But she’s going to find this killer no matter what.

Because it just got personal.

13645069

I did not expect to like this book as much as I did. I don’t really know what I was expecting to feel about it, but I definitely didn’t expect I’d end up loving it.

Maybe if I’d read Find Me when I wasn’t as in the mood for it I wouldn’t have had such strong feelings about it, but as it is, I can’t recommend this book enough. It’s suspenseful and full of uber badass characters, like our protagonist, Wick, who is the first female protagonist I’ve gone swoony for, with the possible exception of Tris. So yeah: major crush. I loved Griff too, and rooted for their relationship even though I wanted Wick for myself, and really enjoyed the banter between them. I liked that Griff was someone who had known Wick before her life with Bren and Todd, because hopefully that will show her that she is likeable.

The only thing that annoyed me about Wick was that sometimes she just got too self-pitying for me. She’s definitely one of those protagonists who thinks they’re never good enough and refuses to trust anyone, but as you can see from my five-star rating, that didn’t deter my enjoyment of it in the least.

I also wasn’t deterred by the fact that the mystery was a teeny bit predictable. I went through phases when I thought Tessa’s attacker was different people, and considered the person who ended up being the mysterious “he,” but I still threw the book at the wall when it was revealed because I really, really didn’t want it to be him. Romily Bernard, if you’re reading this, don’t worry: it was an affectionate throwing at the wall.

I found Find Me extremely addictive and kept me in suspense the whole time. Wick is probably one of my favorite female protagonists of 2013, and Bernard’s debut is also a favorite. Find Me is perfect if you’re looking for a fast-paced, exciting read with a kickass heroin.

coral5

One thought on “Find Me

Leave a Reply

