Book Breakups #4

I don’t leave a book unfinished often. Even if I hate a book, sometimes I’ll keep reading to see if it gets any better, or to make sure nothing good happens so I can make fun of it (yes, I am a terrible person). There are other times, though, when I’m just not in the mood, it’s boring, etc. I am officially adopting Lori of Pure Imagination’s feature, Book Breakups, so I can nobly and (fairly) guiltlessly stop reading a book.

Unfortunately, this week’s a double-wammy breakup post. The first victim? Lauren Myracle’s The Infinite Moment of Us.

the-infinite-moment-of-us

I really wanted to like this book, and if I come back to it I probably will. I think I didn’t like it because I’d just come out of a book about a sheltered girl going to college and I’m about done with that storyline. Instead of feeling sorry for Wren with her control freak parents, I just felt annoyed with her for not making more of an effort to branch out. I really didn’t feel anything for her poor-little-suburban-girl-me-I’m-so-sheltered-and-can’t-do-anything thing. Also, some of the writing made me want to cringe, from the very first page, even. There were some things that were a little too corny for my taste and I didn’t feel like sticking with it. So, sorry book, it’s not me, it’s you.

Victim number two? The Culling by Steven dos Santos.

12617286

Four words: Gay. Hunger Games. Fanfic. I wanted to read it because it’s an LGBT dystopian, but it was so poorly written I couldn’t get past the first 20 pages. Sexual tension in a sewer? The Citadel of Truth? No thank you.

Leave a Reply

