Top Ten Favorite Character Names

Top Ten Tuesday is an original meme created by the wonderful blog The Broke and the Bookish.

Today I’ll get to write about a topic I absolutely love: character names. Naming a character is probably one of the most fun and most difficult parts of creating a character and a story for me. Ever since I was a young little writer, I’ve been collecting unusual names, and have even gone to the length of buying three books of baby names to help me aid the process. YA has seen a lot of unusual, super cool names in recent years, so I’m excited to share some of my favorites:

findmelong

1. Wicket from Find Me
I don’t know why I adore this name so much, but I do. Wick was the second literary girl I had a crush on. Everything about her is super badass.

2. Romily
I guess it makes sense that the author who would come up with a name like Wicket would have an awesome name as well. So here’s to cheating on the character names thing and including the name of the author of Find Me, too.

Reboot-HC-Cover

3. Wren from Reboot
The name Wren has also appeared in The Infinite Moment of Us and Fangirl.

divergent-trilogy

4. Tris from Divergent
The only way to make the name Beatrice sexy. First literary girl crush.

tumblr_lu3pedn9vg1r289afo1_500

5. Cassia from Matched
I pronounced her name wrong until this year after tumbling upon the fact above ^ but I love the name either way

the+HUNGER+GAMES+saga+BANNER

6. Rue from The Hunger Games
I predict this one will be on a lot of lists today.

Daughter-Of-Smoke-And-Bone

7. Karou from Daughter of Smoke and Bone
Definitely one of my all-time favorite names in YA. It means “hope”.

fangirl-ftr

8. Cather from Fangirl
I didn’t love the book as much as I hoped I would, but the names were perfect

wither

9. Rhine from the Chemical Gardens trilogy
Hated this series, but loved Rhine as a name

nothing-like-you-paperback-510-365x550

10. Saskia from Nothing Like You
She may have been a minor character, but her name really made her stand out.

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Favorite Character Names

  1. Tris is a great name–not just for the sound of it, but also for the transformation from ‘Beatrice’ to ‘Tris.’

    Rue is a good one, too–I couldn’t decide between that and Katniss, but I went with Katniss because the ‘catnip’ reference makes me smile.

Leave a Reply

