Top Ten Sequels I’m Dying to Read

Top Ten Tuesday is an original meme created by the wonderful blog The Broke and the Bookish.

1-3

1. Altered by Gennifer Albin – Sequel to Crewel
I was fortunate enough to get an ARC of Altered at BEA over the summer, but I’ve put off reading it because I know that when it’s over, I’ll have to wait for the third novel in the Crewel World trilogy.

2. Just One Year by Gayle Forman – Sequel to Just One Day
I actually wasn’t a fan of Just One Day the first time I tried to read it, but I ended up warming up to it the second time around. I have no worries about Just One Year not being as good, because Where She Went blew me away though I’d thought nothing could top If I Stay. I’m super excited to hear from Willem’s perspective, and who knows? Maybe I’ll like it even better than the first book.

3. Cress by Marissa Meyer – Sequel to Cinder and Scarlet
I was not a fan of Cinder, but luckily I felt pressure to read Scarlet from all the hype around it, and it left me thoroughly impressed. I loved Scarlet and am now anxiously awaiting the third installment in the Lunar Cronicles, Cress.

2-6

4. The One by Kiera Cass – Sequel to The Selection and The Elite
Words cannot describe how much I love this series. It’s like a dystopian America’s Next Top Model, and I hope the CW makes the show of it they’ve been talking about for months, because these books would work great for television. The Selection was exciting and romantic, and The Elite was even better, so I can’t imagine how good The One will be.

5. Rebel by Amy Tintera – Sequel to Reboot
My one big BEA regret is that I didn’t get a copy of Reboot. But, I really wanted to get a copy of Romily Bernard’s Find Me, and that was just as good as Reboot, so I guess everything worked out in the end.

6. Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi – Sequel to Shatter Me and Unravel Me
It took me a while to get to Unravel Me because of series anxiety, meaning I was worried it wouldn’t be as good, but it was even more beautifully written with a lot more steam and romance to go along with it. I have complete confidence that Ignite Me will be equally fantastic.

6-9

7. Her Dark Curiosity by Megan Shepard – Sequel to The Madman’s DaughterI was skeptical about The Madman’s Daughter because I don’t really like anything in the historical fiction vein, but there was enough creepiness to win me over. I adore books featuring weird experiments, plus the romance got under my skin, too. And that goddamn cliffhanger ending. Thank goodness I have an ARC of Her Dark Curiosity so I don’t have to wait until January to read it.

8. Frozen by Erin Bowman – Sequel to TakenI did not think I would love Taken as much as I did. But Grey won me over with his…um, charm? Okay, let’s be real, with his assholery, but he’s a loveable asshole, so it’s kind of okay. Erin Bowman, if Grey and Emma don’t get back together before the end of the trilogy, heads will roll. But mostly yours.

9. The Retribution of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin – Sequel to The Unbecoming & The Evolution of Mara Dyer
This is my favorite trilogy right now. It’s beautiful and dark and painfully romantic, and I do mean painfully because of that thing that happens in book two. I still haven’t processed it yet, and I may be in denial a bit because I just don’t see how Michelle Hodkin could to that. Just no.

10. Unhinged by A. G. Howard – Sequel to Splintered
Splintered is probably my favorite debut of the year. Everything about it was just amazing, so I can’t wait to see what A. G. Howard does in Unhinged. (And that’s Morpheus on the cover!!)

 

Honorable mentions, because 10 just isn’t a high enough number for this post: In the End (Demetria Lunetta), Split Second (Kasie West), Erased (Jennifer Rush), Nantucket Red (Leila Howland), Meridian (Josin L. McQuein), Where Silence Gathers (Kelsey Sutton), Renegade (Debra Driza), Enders (Lissa Price)

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Sequels I’m Dying to Read

  1. I’ve heard so much about the Mara Dyer books that I’m getting very tempted into reading them! I can’t wait for Cress! ( I also have Scarlet on my list this week so I need to read that first).

  2. I was so excited that I finally managed to get my hands on Splintered today, I’ve heard some really amazing things about that book. Also excited to read The Lunar Chronicles and I can’t wait to see what America chooses and how it all ends in The One! Great list. My TTT.

Leave a Reply

