Waiting on Love Letters to the Dead

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Jill from Breaking the Spine, and specifically spotlights upcoming novels we can’t wait to read. This week I’m excited for…

Love Letters to the Dead by Ava Dellaira

It begins as an assignment for English class: Write a letter to a dead person. Laurel chooses Kurt Cobain because her sister, May, loved him. And he died young, just like May did. Soon, Laurel has a notebook full of letters to people like Janis Joplin, Amy Winehouse, Amelia Earhart, Heath Ledger, and more; though she never gives a single one of them to her teacher. She writes about starting high school, navigating new friendships, falling in love for the first time, learning to live with her splintering family. And, finally, about the abuse she suffered while May was supposed to be looking out for her. Only then, once Laurel has written down the truth about what happened to herself, can she truly begin to accept what happened to May. And only when Laurel has begun to see her sister as the person she was; lovely and amazing and deeply flawed; can she begin to discover her own path.

18140047

To be honest, when I requested this book from NetGalley a few days ago, I didn’t really know what it was about. I basically thought “that’s a pretty cover, and all the other blogs I like seem to be interested in it, so I want it, too.” After actually reading about it though, I’ve decided I NEED this book. I love books written in letters (a. k. a. epistolary novels), and I haven’t read one in a while, so I know I’ll like that part of it. I also love the concept of writing to the dead. Based on the names mentioned in the summary, I know I’m going to like Laurel a lot. I’ll be curious to see if she chooses certain people to write to when she writes about certain things, who else is going to be in the lineup, and basically everything about this book. Fingers crossed I’m approved for an e-arc!

3 thoughts on “Waiting on Love Letters to the Dead

Leave a Reply

