Top Ten Covers I Wish I Could Redesign

Top Ten Tuesday is an original meme created by the wonderful blog The Broke and the Bookish.

This week I’ll be sharing the top ten covers I wish I could redesign.

16059410

1. Taste Test – Taste Test
Don’t get me wrong; I loved this book. That said, I wouldn’t be caught dead reading it in public with this cover, so thank goodness I got an e-arc instead. For those of you who haven’t had the pleasure of reading this book, don’t let the cover deter you: it’s super fun and definitely worth a read.

16140922

2. Altered – Gennifer Albin
I’ve already ranted about how much I hate the new covers for the Crewel trilogy, but they’re so bad it bears repeating. The first Crewel cover was beautiful, and I guess it might have been hard to continue in Altered, but surely they could’ve done better than this.

13649079

3. Divided – Elsie Chapman
The cover for Dualed wasn’t too special, but at least it didn’t stand out as badly as this one does. I absolutely hate the color scheme on this one and think it makes the book look super cheesy.

10429045

4. Shatter Me – Tahereh Mafi
This cover never made sense to me. I get that the girl-in-a-dress trend was big the year it came out, but it makes absolutely zero sense for the story. Also, it is an ugly dress.

13104080

5. Unravel Me – Tahereh Mafi
The Shatter Me series was redesigned, but I don’t like the new design either. I just don’t get the big eye thing, and the first two book covers look WAY too similar.

1341760713640928

6. Painted Blind – Michelle A. Hansen
I hated the first cover for Hansen’s novel because it was much too literal (and pink), but I ended up really liking the book. The second cover is a little better, but again, THE COLORS.

955479012806139

7. The Weepers – Susanne Winnacker
I don’t like either of these covers. The butterfly one makes no sense, and the second cover has horrible colors, yet again.

2141551

9. Love & Lies: Marisol’s Story – Ellen Wittlinger
This one needs a cover and a title makeover. It’s too pink for Marisol, who’s super cool and hip. Plus, I absolutely. Freaking. Hate. Titles that have “so-and-so’s story” as part of them. Uber lameness.

13630495

9. Rape Girl – Alina Klein
Nothing about this book is appealing. It’s definitely memorable, but for all the wrong reasons, including the title and that almost disgusting cover. I think I could handle the title if the cover wasn’t so awful. I mean, what is that?

DeliriumDelirium-Trilogy-delirium-31382340-780-392

10. Pandemonium, etc. – Lauren Oliver
Nothing’s really wrong with these covers, I guess. I just loved the original cover for Delirium, so I was really sad when they changed it. I’m not a fan of the whole big face thing either, especially since I don’t like the face on the cover and didn’t picture Lena that way at all. Also, I feel like the covers for Pandemonium and Requiem were way too similar, so that didn’t help either.

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Covers I Wish I Could Redesign

  1. The, let’s call it pinkwashing, of female-targeted covers annoys me, too. Why, cover design people?

    That Taste Test cover is awful. Are they kissing behind a skillet? Who in their right minds would *do* that?

  2. I dislike reading all books with kissing couples on the cover in public. It makes me feel like people are going to think I’m reading some hot, steamy romance novel when it’s really not.

    And what is up with the cover of Rape Girl? I just don’t get it…

Leave a Reply

