Top Ten Tuesday: 2014 Releases I’m Most Excited About

Top Ten Tuesday is an original meme created by the wonderful blog The Broke and the Bookish.

This week’s topic is actually to share the top ten 2014 releases I’m most excited about, but since my mother requested a list of books I’d like for Christmas, I did that yesterday instead. I also chose to focus on standalones I’m excited about in particular, because otherwise this would pretty much be a repeat of the sequels I’m dying to read list.

1. I’ll Give You the Sun – Jandy Nelson
Oh. My. God! Jandy Nelson is going to publish a new book this year! I have been anxiously awaiting this moment since the second I finished The Sky is EverywhereThere’s not even a description for it yet, but I don’t care; I’ll read it whatever it’s about.

2. Everything Leads to You – Nina LaCour
Hold Still is one of my all-time favorite books. It was so beautifully written and made me feel all the feels. Need. This. Now.

3. Glory O’Brien’s History of the Future – A. S. King
I just read Reality Boy and now plan to read all of A. S. King’s books ever. Maybe I’ll have read them all by the time this one comes out.

4. No One Else Can Have You – Kathleen Hale
This sounds like a quirky murder mystery I won’t have anything but love for.

18052934

5. Panic – Lauren Oliver
Lauren Oliver. Does this even need an explanation? She stole my heart with the Delirium trilogy, and I can’t wait to see what she does next. Thank God I have an ARC of this book, or I would be dying.

Panic_HC_JKT_des4.indd

6. The Impossible Knife of Memory – Laurie Halse Anderson
OMGNEWLAURIEHALSEANDERSON!!!!! I loved Speak, of course, and liked all the other books by her I’ve read, so I expect this will be another winner.

18079527

7. To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before – Jenny Han
This book sounds absolutely perfect for me: a girl discovers that somehow, her letters to all her past crushes have been mailed, and she has to confront each of them. I can’t wait to read this fun, awkward, romantic ride by Jenny Han. I’m a big fan of her Burn for Burn series with Siobhan Vivian, but have yet to read any of her solo works, so I hope this’ll be just as good.

15749186

8. Arcadia Falls – Trish Doller
Okay, this one’s actually cheating, because the release date was pushed back to 2015 😦 But by writing it down on this list, I’m hoping the universe will hear my cry and move it back to this year.

9. Nantucket Red – Leila Howland
I have to break the only-write-about-standalones rule for this book. I loved Nantucket Blue and was perfectly satisfied with the ending, but I was still thrilled to learn there is going to be a sequel. I hope that there’s more Zack/Cricket action, even though the summary says Zack falls for Cricket’s worst enemy (!!!), and that I end up liking Ben, the new guy mentioned in the description.

18453185

10. Rio – Ally Condie
Okay, I had to break my standalone rule again because of this book. But it’s Allie Condie, so it’s okay. I still have somewhat mixed feelings about the Matched trilogy, but I did like it enough to be really excited about this new release. Plus, it has a premise I’ve definitely never heard before, of a girl who lives in a complex underwater world called Atlantia.

9 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: 2014 Releases I’m Most Excited About

  1. I can see my TBR growing so much this week! I have added so many of these books to my wishlist. I can’t wait for Panic or Jandy Nelson’s new book! Great list. I also have Laurie Halse Anderson’s on mine!

  2. Oh I forgot about Everything Leads to You. I love LaCour’s books. So excited for the new books by Trish Doller and Jenny Han too. It’s going to be a great year!

      • Yes, I’ve read both of them. The Disenchantments is not as widely loved as Hold Still but I liked the nostalgia feel of it and I’m partial to roadtrip/music books anyway. I’d borrow it from the library and sample it.

  3. Great picks! I would comment on more but all I can see right now is JANDY NELSON HAS A NEW BOOK! Like you, ever since I finished The Sky is Everywhere after it was first released, all I have done is look out for, google and twitter stalk her in the hopes of a new book announcement. So excited that we are finally going to get one! My TTT

  4. I keep meaning to read A.S. King’s Ask the Passengers and Reality Boy so knowing that there’s a book coming out might just motivate me into reading them! 🙂

Leave a Reply

