Help!

So it’s getting close to the end of the year, and I still have about…90 unread digital and print ARCs from 2013 (I counted). I know, shock horror, it actually makes me feel kind of irresponsible.

This, as you might have guessed, is a problem.

I don’t even have a whole month left of 2013 during which I could make significant headway into these books, and I’m kind of torn on what to do at this point. A lot of those ARCs are books I am no longer interested in reading, but I still feel bad icksnaying them from my TBR. Plus, most of the NetGalley books are archived, so I wouldn’t be able to put my reviews there anyway.

On top of that, I also have a decent number of non-ARCs and library books I want to read from 2013.

As a book blogger, I feel somewhat pressured to stay super on top of the publishing world at all times. But, since I love reading and have such a giant TBR list, it’s pretty impossible for me to read all the books I want to from a certain month and review them close to their release date. I don’t know why I’m worried about this now, since I never was before, but I need some serious help prioritizing.

To do that, I am going to list books in tiers (tier one being top priorities). Last winter break, I read 25 books, and I’m sure I can beat that this winter break, so I’ll be making three tiers that are five books each:

Tier 1:

1719950413522285161409221347767615826648

These are the books I feel like I absolutely NEED to read. The Bone Season has gotten so much hype that I can’t ignore it anymore, plus I have an e-galley on my Kindle. I bought The Beginning of Everything earlier this year and have been dying to read it, but somehow it keeps getting pushed to the backburner. Altered is the sequel to Crewel, Gennifer Albin’s amazing 2012 debut, which I got signed by her at BEA (she’s so nice!)! I also bought Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock on a whim, but it looks fantastic, and everything I’ve heard about it has been good. Where the Stars Still Shine is a no-brainer, because Trish Doller’s Something Like Normal was one of my favorite reads of 2012.

Tier 2

1083878717333338128421341281363015751652

I love the first sentence of Pawn. I’m not going to share it here, you’ll just have to read it yourselves. I wasn’t totally sure about Charming when I picked it up at BEA, but I just wanted everything that day. Charming was another first sentence hook. I reread Just One Day a while ago, so my ARC of Just One Year can’t go untouched. One of my most desired ARCs for 2013 was Holly Black’s The Coldest Girl in Coldtown, but like so many other books, it keeps getting bogged down on the TBR list. Ann Stampler of Afterparty is just as awesome as Gennifer Albin, so her book has been moved to the top, too. She sent me a message on Twitter saying she was happy to see someone under fifty calling herself a feminist, and I haven’t replied yet because I’m still squeeing from happy.

Tier 3

1784467813265540131128691719093515805597

I still have a couple 2013 debuts I want to read, though the DAC at Hobbitsies seems to be on hold (as does my prize pack…). The Promise of Amazing was a gift from Edelweiss, and I just bought Not a Drop to Drink on Amazon for $2! I also HAVE to check out Red from the library as soon as I get home, because it was one of my most anticipated debuts. Just Like Fate is co-authored by Cat Patrick, who wrote another book on my favorites list, Forgotten, so of course I need to read that, and Sarah Ockler is the writer of 20 Boy Summer, which left a lasting impression on me, but also made me afraid to read her other books because I’m worried they won’t be as good.

I’m really happy I’m going home again soon so I can snuggle up with all these books and my kitties (plus tea).

What 2013 releases are you still dying to read?

3 thoughts on “Help!

  1. Hahha oh wow! I’m in the same boat as you! I have no clue where to start but I think you should start with #3 just because The promise of Amazing is going to be released December 31! I’m also reading that one. Good luck!

  2. Alicia♥ says:

    I’m feeling your troubles!! It’s always this time of the year when we feel the pressing need to finish off all the books on our TBR, GOOD LUCK =D I’ve heard so many amazing things for The Bone Season and Where the Stars still Shine… Reading Pawn now and it’s very refreshing, love the twist in its dystopian world.

    Happy Holidays and may you enjoy reading all these awesome books!

    Alicia @ Summer Next Top Story

  3. Jenna @ Rather Be Reading YA says:

    About half of those books are on my TBR too but I’m only 3 behind on ARCs and those were all sent to me recently. I’m very careful about requests and accepting review requests so I won’t get overwhelmed…and I still forgot about one that I had agreed to review. Oops.

Leave a Reply

