Top Ten Books on my Winter TBR List

Top Ten Tuesday is an original meme created by the wonderful blog The Broke and the Bookish.

I wrote about this topic yesterday a bit to pare down my list for today. This is only a short bit of my winter TBR list, mostly focusing on January releases:

1. Her Dark Curiosity – Megan Shepherd
Because Megan Shepherd. That is why I need to read this book. She took me completely by surprise with The Madman’s Daughter and made me like a book in a genre I don’t normally read. Also, THAT GODDAMN CLIFFHANGER ENDING!!!!

16182304

2. Cruel Beauty – Rosamund Hodge
I really like retellings of fairytales in YA lit. I’m more used to retellings that place the story in a new time period/setting in general, but I think Cruel Beauty is still in a fantasy world, so I’m curious to see what happens. Plus, I’m planning on this book being my first debut author read of 2014!

15839984

3. Anything to Have You – Paige Harbison
To be honest, this isn’t the kind of book I usually pick up, but for whatever reason, I’m REALLY excited about it.

18168638

4. Being Sloane Jacobs – Lauren Morrill
I’ve heard great things about Morrill’s debut, Meant to Be, but never got around to reading it, so I jumped on a chance to read her 2014 release. This ARC is a must read for me because my acceptance on NetGalley also came with an invitation to be part of a tour, so I need to read it and decide if I want to participate!

Untitled-1

5. The Impossible Knife of Memory – Laurie Halse Anderson
Speak is one of my all-time favorite books, so a new book by LHA on my TBR list is a no-brainer, because everything she writes is amazing. I wrote about this last week, but it’s worth repeating.

18079527

6. Heartbeat – Elizabeth Scott
I hate, hate, HATE this cover but love Elizabeth Scott, author of Living Dead Girl, Stealing Heaven, and many more. The premise sounds absolutely fascinating, as I’ve definitely never read a book about a girl whose brain-dead mother is being kept alive because of her pregnancy.

17258743

7. And We Stay – Jenny Hubbard
I only discovered this one recently, but I already can’t wait. First of all, this book is told in verse and prose, a style I really like. Besides that, there’s a school shooting, a boarding school, PLUS the ghost of Emily Dickinson. How can this book not be good?

17797364

8. No One Else Can Have You – Kathleen Hale
I wrote about this one last week, too, but I just have such a good feeling about this book. I know I’ll love it, but now I’m starting to get a teeny bit worried that it’ll be one I put off because I’m expecting so much from it.

18052934

9. Infinite – Jodi Meadows
I wasn’t sure if I liked Incarnate by the time Asunder came out this past January, but reading the second installment in this trilogy got me totally hooked to the New Soul series. Meadows’ writing is rich and beautiful, and Ana’s story is unique and breathtaking.

13085374

10. Enders – Lissa Price
I couldn’t decide whether to put this book or Ellen Oh’s Warrior (sequel to Prophecy) as my final book this week, but I’ve feel like I’ve been waiting for Enders so long that I couldn’t pass it up. Enders is the sequel to Lissa Price’s debut, Starters, which I ended up really liking, though I wasn’t sure if I would at first. I read Starters last winter, so I haven’t been waiting for Enders as long as the people who read it when it first came out, but I felt like it took FOREVER to get any news about the final book in the duology, and I’m beyond excited an e-galley of it is waiting for me on my Kindle 🙂

13412377

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Books on my Winter TBR List

Leave a Reply

