Cover Twins

I understand that stock photos are available for anyone to use for their covers and this can lead to cover twins, but sometimes some books use them better than others…

1196994118657517

This set of twins is actually missing a third book, but I couldn’t find it again to use in this post. That cover used the same picture and proportions as the second cover, but had very obviously photoshopped red hair onto the girl and looked super cheap. I think the cover for Lovely Vicious is a lot better than that cover, but it’s a bit too teal for me and the font and title placement don’t really work for me. The Unquiet was a great book and also one of my favorite covers for 2012, so I might be a little biased, but for me it’s the clear winner in this set. The lighting and colors are all just right and it looks the most polished.

8546729157516524447419

I think Lauren Barnholdt’s cover works the best for me. It’s the sharpest and I like the saturation of colors. I also like the font and the colors of the lettering. Haruki Murakami’s cover is a bit too blurry for my taste, but Afterparty‘s cover is a close second to Barnholdt’s, which makes sense since they’re not all that different.

cover40709-medium9780857991171_1400

I’m not really sure what’s up with the girl in these photos. What’s with the fingers to the mouth? Is she feeding herself something super slowly? Is she wiping something off her lips? Is she holding back vomit brought on by feelings of repulsion for the guy she’s leaning against? I don’t know. I don’t like either version that much, but This is Now is slightly better despite the cliche title because the colors contrast more. In black and white it’s just kind of boring, though the very brown-tinted twin isn’t much more exciting.

Leave a Reply

