Prophecy

Title: Prophecy (The Dragon King Chronicles #1)
Author: Ellen Oh
Publisher: HarperTeen
Publication Date: January 2, 2013
Pages: 312
Genre: Fantasy
Source: Library
Rating: 4/5

The greatest warrior in all of the Seven Kingdoms… is a girl with yellow eyes.

Kira’s the only female in the king’s army, and the prince’s bodyguard. She’s a demon slayer and an outcast, hated by nearly everyone in her home city of Hansong. And, she’s their only hope…

Murdered kings and discovered traitors point to a demon invasion, sending Kira on the run with the young prince. He may be the savior predicted in the Dragon King Prophecy, but the missing treasure of myth may be the true key. With only the guidance of the cryptic prophecy, Kira must battle demon soldiers, evil shaman, and the Demon Lord himself to find what was once lost and raise a prince into a king.

15720376

Confession: I only read this book because I was autoapproved for the sequel on Edelweiss. Prophecy wasn’t anywhere on my original list for the Debut Author Challenge this year, and to be honest I barely gave it a thought because it was fantasy. I haven’t read fantasy probably since I was in middle school. I think I felt like I’d kind of outgrown it.

That said, Prophecy was exactly what I needed to help me through my slump from a few weeks ago. I haven’t read anything like it in so long, and it was a perfect breath of fresh air for me from all the contemporary and dystopian YA I’ve been reading. It’s also made me more interested in finding some other fantasy to spice up my TBR list.

There wasn’t a single thing that I disliked about this book, other than that sometimes I felt like the writing was meant for a slightly younger young adult than I. Kira was the perfect badass heroine, complete with fighting skills and mysterious yellow eyes. I was really drawn in by her story of being an outsider, even though the people she feels separate from and who torment her are the very ones she’s trying to protect. Kira is both tough and loving, and her personal growth throughout the story kept me hooked the whole time.

I also loved the world Oh created. I enjoyed the inclusion of the Korean language since it was something I’ve never seen in fantasy before. I also liked the idea of the seven kingdoms, and the discussion of politics between them. I used to get kind of lost with fantasy politics, but I felt the way Oh wrote about them in Prophecy really added to the story. She used them to create a full, rich world that was unlike any I’ve read about recently.

Add in some demons and a prophecy, and you’ve got the perfect fantasy book for me. I know prophecies are kind of overdone in fantasy, but it’s always been an element I like in that genre, because I like figuring out who’s who in the prophecy. I also really like books involving demon hunting and such, so that was another major plus for me in this novel.

Prophecy is perfect for readers of fantasy who want something a little different and for fans of Daughter of Smoke & Bone, a book with with a heroine just as badass as Kira.

red4

Leave a Reply

