Top Ten New Year’s Resolutions

Top Ten Tuesday is an original meme created by the wonderful blog The Broke and the Bookish.

This week’s topic is to share ten of our New Year’s resolutions, either bookish or non-bookish. I don’t really make New Year’s resolutions about my own life, so I’ll be sharing my blog and reading-related goals for the new year.

1. Move from WordPress.com to self-hosted WordPress.org! I’ve been thinking about going self-hosted for a long time, because I feel like it will make my blog seem more legit, plus I’ve been feeling limited by free WordPress in terms of creativity. I’m currently thinking about using Safe Shark, because they have one-click Worpress installation, plus they’ll move my posts to the new blog for free. It also helps that they have a high rating from Nose Graze, a blog I really trust with technology-related issues like this.

2. Read just as many or more books than last year. In 2013, I read 133 books, so I should get to work on that!

3. Complete the Debut Author Challenge. Last year my goal was to read 50 books, and I read 54 and reviewed 53 (still working on my review for Katie Cutogno’s How to Love). This year I hope to read at least 30. I decreased the number because some of the books on my worst of 2013 list were debuts, and also because I’m participating in the Stand-Alone Reading Challenge.

4. Complete Stand Alone Reading Challenge. I’ve ranted a lot about how much I hate series (especially trilogies), so this is the perfect challenge for me. Like my list of TBRs for the DAC, my list for the SARC is also ridiculously long, but my starting goal is to read at least 40 of them. This will probably be an easy goal to achieve, as there are a lot of stand alones on my list for the DAC as well, so when I meet my goal I’ll probably up it between 10-20 books.

5. Only start series by debut authors. I usually hate series, but there are a few really good ones coming out from debut authors this year that I just have to read. I’m already in the middle of so many trilogies and series and I just don’t want to add too many more to the list.

6. Read less dystopian. I have a love-hate relationship with dystopians that I simply don’t need to feed anymore. Everything is starting to sound the same and to melt together in my head, and I always feel disappointed after finishing a dystopian novel. I think the problem is that the genre has been overdone to death. With the exception of series I’ve already started, my goal is to read no more than five dystopians in 2014.

7. Interact more on Twitter. This is something that’s been really scary for me. I want to get to know my fellow bloggers and authors, but I never know how to start a conversation on Twitter. I’m much better at networking in person than online, but since our society relies so heavily on technology, it’s a skill I need to learn.

8. Be more selective about requesting books from NetGalley & Edelweiss. I’m still about 90 ARCs behind between the two for last year, and I don’t want that to happen again. I requested a lot of books because I figured I could decide not to read them and it wouldn’t matter, but now my books read/feedback sent ratio on NetGalley is super low because of all the titles I never got to. I need to only request books for the DAC and SARC, and only books I know I’ll read.

9. Respond to people’s comments more. I always get excited when someone comments on a post, but then chicken out too much to actually respond. Now that I think about it, I think I’m shyer online than in real life.

10. Read more of the books I already own. I still have a bunch of books from BEA I need to read, and books I purchased but have yet to get to. Maybe I should participate in the TBR Challenge as well?

7 thoughts on “Top Ten New Year’s Resolutions

  1. Great goals 🙂 We have many similar. I really do need to watch my ARC intake. I’m quite good at responding to comments on my blog, but I want to comment on more blogs. Not just memes! I hope you achieve your goals.

  2. You and I have a lot of goals in common! I just found out about the TBR Challenge today and it sounds like the perfect thing. I have WAY too many books sitting on my shelves waiting for me to finally pick them up, and I feel like I really need to get through them. I don’t have NetGalley or Edelweiss but I do get publishers emailing me, asking if I’d like to review a book. And I more than often say yes. Which has led me to piles of review books just sitting there, knowing I never got to them in time. It’s terrible! Great list and I hope you succeed in them this year 🙂

  3. Hi! I found you through TTT. I’m interested that you specifically intend to read less dystopian this year, as I’ve just seen this phenomenon in YA growing and growing. Do you think it’s going to slow down any in the coming years? I think it’s been filling a particular YA niche what with all the recession-related uncertainties for young adults in recent years, I wonder if the need will go away or continue to grow…

    • I think dystopian will slow down in the coming years. Looking at various publisher catalogs, I’m already noticing there will be less dystopian novels in 2014. I totally agree with you about filling a particular niche though. I’ve thought a lot about why the genre has suddenly become so popular, and the reasons you brought up are definitely things I’ve thought about as well.

  4. I love your goals! The debut author one was really interesting. I don’t always pay a lot of attention to whether an author was a debut until after I’ve read the book. I do know I lucked out a lot last year, almost every debut I read was wonderful! Good luck with all of your resolutions:)

Leave a Reply

